#### MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING

## **OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS**

#### OF SAN MIGUEL COUNTY, NEW MEXICO

## **HELD FRIDAY JUNE 6TH, 2014**

## CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Vice-Chairman Ron Ortega called the meeting to order at approximately 9:00 A.M., at the Commission chambers on the 2nd floor of the San Miguel County Courthouse. Upon a call of the roll by the San Miguel County Clerk Melanie Y. Rivera, three of the five Commissioners were present, and a quorum was duly established and noted as follows: Vice-Chairman Ron R. Ortega, and Commissioners Marcellino A. Ortiz and Arthur J. Padilla. Chairman Nicolas T. Leger and Commissioner Gilbert Sena were absent for this special meeting. Also present for the special meeting was San Miguel County Clerk Melanie Y. Rivera and Chief Deputy Clerk Geraldine Gutierrez.

## PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE AND SALUTATION OF THE NM FLAG

Joined by staff and all in attendance, the Commissioners pledged allegiance to the U.S. flag and offered their salutation to the N.M. flag.

# ITEM 1-JUNE 3<sup>RD</sup> PRIMARY ELECTION CANVASS

Vice-Chairman Ron Ortega stated that he would give the lead to County Clerk Melanie Y. Rivera to present the canvassing information. San Miguel County Clerk Melanie Y. Rivera advised the Commission of the easiest way of canvassing the votes. SMC County Clerk Melanie Y. Rivera began with the Provisional Ballots that were received on Election Day. The Canvassing Board then moved forward and reviewed the grand totals for each candidate, for each precinct, for the entire County.

Upon a motion by Commissioner Padilla, and a second by Commissioner Ortiz, the approval for the June 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2014 Primary Election Results was adopted unanimously.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Upon a motion by Commissioner Padilla, and a second by Commissioner Ortiz, the motion carried and the meeting was duly adjourned.

MOVED, SECONDED AND ADOPTED this 9th day of July, 2014, by the Board of County Commissioners of San Miguel County, New Mexico, as the official minutes of a special meeting held June 6th, 2014.

Nicolas T. Leger, Chairman

Ron R. Ortega, Vice-Chairman

Marcellino AnOrtiz, Member

Arthur J. Padilla, Member

Gilbert J.B. Sena, Member

ATTEST:

Melanie Y. Rivera

San Miguel County Clerk

(SEAL)

Minutes prepared by:

Diego Romero

**Deputy Clerk**